Skip to content

NaDigiWriMo Redux

November 30, 2012

Remember when I posted about participating in NaDigiWriMo? Well, now it is the end of the month, so how did I do?

Not so well. The goal was to post daily. I posted weekly. That’s an improvement, as I try to post only when I have something to say, but not what I’d wanted. I added a reminder to my calendar to post, but often ignored it. The content I posted, I thought, was thoughtful and well done, which is better than posting for posting’s sake.

I was also involved in other quasi-bloggy, writing projects. I have been working with Elizabeth Gaucher on an essay about an incident with my grandmother. Like any writing, this writing started out with an idea that was good and an execution that was fairly awful. Several drafts later, it’s almost ready for primetime, which for now is publication on the Esse Diem blog. Watch this space!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 8:25 pm

    There is a world of controversy about this topic — should writers use word count, daily posting daily writing, etc. to measure their success/work ethic?

    I don’t know. I’ve come to believe it’s as with so many things in the middle world. Writing often is important. Artificial metrics like word count and postings, maybe not so much.

  2. November 30, 2012 8:43 pm

    That’s an excellent point. I was using the frequency of writing as my metric at the beginning, but now I think that what’s more important is the commitment to the blog itself, if tha tmakes sense. I need to write more, and I am. But all writing need not be here.

Leave a Reply

