Skip to content

Screen captures

October 8, 2013

Just recently, I had a faculty request for training on a screen-capture software. I am most familiar with Camtasia Studio or Adobe Captivate, but these programs all have charges, and we’re a tiny community college on a limited budget. So I wanted to stay with free options that offered quality. Jing and Doceri were mentioned to me; I’ve used Jing in the past (it’s kind of a mini-Camtasia), but Doceri was new to me. So I did a little research. 

Jing is a stripped-down version of Camtasia Studio by TechSmith . I find it intuitive and easy to use. (And did I mention free?) One limitation is that the video length is short; however ,I think that’s actually a plus in that it forcees us to chunk our material: good for learning AND for download time in online courses! I’ll be working on training shortly, so check back for the link in a later post. 

Leave a Reply

