Skip to content

Brain-Based Learning: Not a joke

February 3, 2012

The term “brain-based learning” inspires jokes and practically begs mockery.

“Brain-based learning? As opposed to what? Foot-based learning?”

So it’s probably best to start with a bit of definition. Brain-based learning is using what we know from neuroanatomy and neurobiology to create learning experiences that “stick” for students. When we know how information is coded and added to our neural network, then we can best design learning that can be more quickly and easily incorporated into our students’ minds. The laws listed below are basic and use the word “trump” a lot (No, not Donald). It boils down to “keep it different; keep it varied.”

10 Brain-Based Learning Laws That Trump Traditional Education.

Which of these do you use? Which would you like to incorporate? I’d love to hear the stories of your experiments.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2012 3:53 pm

    My stars, Velvet Chainsaw needs a new blog background! Difficult to read, but a nice piece. I esp. like the writing to remember concept.

  2. October 12, 2012 7:58 pm

    I find that when I have students write, they understand more. I think it is because they are using all their senses…their hearing, touch, and sight, when they write. Of course, it works for me, too!

Leave a comment